Foundations

Foundations date back to ancient times. However, foundations with distinct legal personalities did not make their appearance until Christianity took hold in Europe during the Middle Ages. They were mainly used by churches, monasteries and hospitals.

Today, two types of foundation exist. They are classified according to their aims: private foundations, and those operating in the public interest. Public interest foundations include those created for ecclesiastical, charitable, scientific and humanitarian purposes. Strict rules govern their creation, and they generally operate under state supervision. Most private foundations are family foundations. The rules governing them are far less strict.

A family foundation can be described as a legal entity created using an incorporating document by way of which the founder transfers assets to be used for specific aims, to the benefit of beneficiaries who are members of a family.

The purpose of this type of foundation is to support and assist members of a single family to pay for education or training or to meet living expenses. A family foundation cannot exist simply to make a profit.

A foundation is different from a company in that it does not have shareholders or members. Consequently, ownership of a foundation cannot be transferred. However, in common with other legal entities, a foundation can exercise civil rights, meaning that it is personally responsible for its debts and its structures can sign contracts in the foundation’s name.

A family foundation has three or four main stakeholders:

  • The founder, who may be a person or a legal entity, creates and organises the foundation. The founder decides the circle of beneficiaries, chooses the foundation council members and gives instructions on the way the foundation should be managed and how the assets are to be distributed.
  • Beneficiaries are the people who benefit from the foundation. They receive resources from the foundation (income, capital, etc.) as set out in the foundation regulations. Should the need arise, the beneficiaries can take legal action to assert their rights. In general, the beneficiaries are named not in the foundation charter but in confidential documents such as additional by-laws or the regulations. The founder can be a beneficiary of the foundation.
  • The foundation council is the foundation’s executive body. The council runs the foundation on a day-to-day basis. It is similar to the board of a company. It is bound by the founder’s wishes, and must work to achieve the goal set out in the incorporating document. More generally, it is required to act “en bon père de famille” (as a conscientious father would).
  • The founder can also designate a protector to oversee the activities of the foundation council.

Two documents are normally drafted when a foundation is created. One is public and is lodged with a notary. This is the incorporating document or charter. The other document, known as the foundation regulations or by-laws, is confidential.

The charter generally includes:

  • the name of the foundation,
  • the initial assets,
  • its registered office,
  • the names and addresses of the foundation council members,
  • how the beneficiaries are determined,
  • the rules on amending the charter,
  • the duration of the foundation,
  • instructions on how it is to be dissolved.

The foundation regulations contain:

  • a list of the property held within the structure,
  • the powers of the foundation council and how it is remunerated,
  • the list of beneficiaries,
  • rules on distributions and rules on replacing beneficiaries or adding new ones,
  • rules relating to the administration of the foundation,
  • the choice of protector and the protector’s powers,
  • instructions for presenting the foundation’s accounts.

Like trusts, when used intelligently and appropriately family foundations can offer substantial advantages for asset planning. Before forming a foundation it is vital to carry out a detailed review of the assets of the founder and beneficiaries, and to fully understand the goals of the foundation. The location of the assets to be placed in the foundation is also an important issue.

CROCE & Associés Trust assists its clients in creating family foundations, in particular in Panama, Malta, the Netherlands Antilles and Liechtenstein. We have all the capabilities and experience necessary to guarantee the foundation you create meets your requirements perfectly.

With our subsidiaries in Europe and Asia, we can offer you a comprehensive transferred asset management service through a single point of contact.

« Obsession of excellence »


Lire la suite...

Fondations

Les origines de la fondation remontent à l’Antiquité. Ce n’est toutefois que durant la période du Moyen Âge, sous l’impulsion du christianisme, que la fondation dotée de la personnalité juridique fit son apparition. Elle était principalement utilisée par les églises, les monastères et les hôpitaux.

Aujourd’hui, on distingue deux types de fondations, classées d’après le but qu’elles poursuivent : les fondations privées et celles à but d’utilité publique. Parmi ces dernières figurent les fondations ecclésiastiques ainsi que celles employées à des fins charitables, scientifiques ou encore humanitaires. Ces entités font l’objet de règles strictes lors de leur constitution et demeurent généralement soumises à un contrôle étatique. Les fondations privées comprennent quant à elles essentiellement les fondations de famille. Elles bénéficient de règles beaucoup plus souples.

La fondation de famille peut être décrite en tant qu’entité juridique créée sur la base d’un acte constitutif, permettant au fondateur de transférer un patrimoine selon des buts déterminés en faveur de bénéficiaires, membres d’une famille.

Le but de ce type de fondation est ici de soutenir et d’aider les membres d’une même famille en subvenant à leurs frais d’éducation, de formation ou d’entretien. Ainsi, la fondation de famille ne saurait avoir pour objectifs la simple réalisation de profits.

A la différence d’une société, une fondation ne possède ni actionnaires ni membres. Ainsi, la propriété d’une fondation n’est pas transmissible. En revanche, à l’instar des autres personnes morales, elle dispose de l’exercice des droits civils ; en clair, cela signifie qu’elle répond personnellement sur ses dettes et peut passer des contrats en son nom propre par le biais de ses organes.

La fondation de famille se compose principalement de trois voire quatre acteurs :

– Le fondateur, qui peut être une personne physique ou morale, est celui qui constitue et organise la fondation. En particulier, il détermine le cercle des bénéficiaires, choisit les membres du conseil de fondation et donne des instructions sur la façon dont il souhaite que l’entité soit gérée et les actifs distribués.

– Les bénéficiaires sont les personnes qui tirent profit de la fondation. Ce sont eux qui reçoivent les biens de la fondation (revenu, capital, etc.) conformément au règlement de fondation. Au besoin, les bénéficiaires peuvent agir en justice afin de faire valoir leurs droits. En règle générale, ils ne sont pas mentionnés dans l’acte constitutif mais figurent dans les statuts complémentaires ou le règlement, documents qui demeurent confidentiels. A noter que le fondateur peut lui-même faire partie des bénéficiaires.

– Le conseil de fondation représente l’organe exécutif de la fondation. Il est responsable de la gestion courante et peut être comparé au conseil d’administration d’une société. Il est lié par les volontés du fondateur et doit œuvrer à l’accomplissement du but établi dans l’acte constitutif. D’une façon générale, il est tenu d’agir avec la diligence d’un « bon père de famille ».

– Le fondateur a la possibilité de désigner un protector, soit une personne chargée de surveiller les activités déployées par le conseil de fondation.

La création d’une fondation requiert généralement la rédaction de deux documents, l’un public passé devant notaire, l’autre confidentiel : il s’agit de l’acte constitutif et du règlement de fondation (ou les statuts).

L’acte constitutif comprendra généralement le nom de la fondation ; les actifs initiaux qui la compose ; le siège de celle-ci ; le nom et l’adresse des membres du conseil de fondation ; la manière de déterminer les bénéficiaires ; les règles pour amender l’acte constitutif ; la durée de la fondation ; les règles sur la dissolution de celle-ci.

Le règlement de fondation contiendra en principe la liste des biens qui composent la structure ; les pouvoirs et la rémunération du conseil de fondation ; la liste des bénéficiaires ; les règles sur les distributions ainsi que celles sur le remplacement et l’ajout de nouveaux bénéficiaires ; les règles liées à l’administration de la fondation ; le choix du protector et ses pouvoirs ; les principes sur la reddition des comptes.

A l’instar des trusts, une utilisation intelligente et appropriée des fondations de famille offre des avantages substantiels en matière de planification patrimoniale. La constitution d’une fondation requiert toutefois une analyse détaillée de la situation patrimoniale du fondateur et des bénéficiaires ainsi que des objectifs visés. La localisation des biens de l’entité est également une question importante.

CROCE & Associés Trust assiste sa clientèle dans la mise en place de fondations de famille en particulier au Panama, à Malte, aux Antilles néerlandaises et au Liechtenstein.

En outre, grâce à ses filiales en Europe et en Asie, CROCE & Associés Trust offre à ses clients la gestion complète des avoirs transférés leur permettant ainsi de n’avoir qu’un seul interlocuteur dans la conduite de leurs affaires.

« Obsession of excellence »


Lire la suite...