Trusts

Trusts originally developed in England. A trust can be defined as a unilateral legal arrangement by which the settlor transfers specified assets to one or more trustees, who have an obligation to hold, manage and use them for the benefit of one or more third parties (beneficiaries).

The main characteristics of a trust are as follows:

  • A trust is not a separate legal entity. This distinguishes it from a family foundation.
  • A trust can hold any type of assets: immovable property, paper securities, cash and other moveable property.
  • Although a trust is initially created by a settlor, once it has been formed the main legal relationship is between the trustee and the beneficiaries. This relationship is governed firstly by the trust instrument (a document) and secondly by the proper law of the trust (i.e. the law governing the trust).
  • When a trust is created, ownership of the assets concerned formally passes to the trustee. The trustee has an obligation to manage the trust assets in the interest of the beneficiaries, or for a valid purpose in the case of a purpose trust, and not for the benefit of the trustee or settlor.
  • In principle, the settlor loses all power over the trust. However, the trust instrument can provide for the settlor to retain some control, in which case we talk of settlor reserved powers.
  • Settlors can set out their intentions and decisions via a letter of wishes.
  • The trust assets are separate from the trustee’s personal wealth. They are consequently protected from the trustee’s own creditors and are not part of the trustee’s estate in the event of death, or assets in the event of divorce.
  • If settlors so wish, they can appoint a protector to ensure the trustee acts in accordance with their original intentions. The extent of the protector’s powers is defined in the trust instrument.
  • As a general rule, trustees are required to be licensed and their operations are strictly regulated by local supervisory authorities. In certain jurisdictions however, it is possible for settlors to designate themselves (or a trusted third party such as a personal advisor) trustee of their own private trust company. This solution enables the settlor to retain control of the way the trust is managed.

When used judiciously, trusts offer excellent tax and inheritance planning opportunities. Before forming a trust it is vital to carry out a detailed review of the wealth status of the settlor and beneficiaries, and to fully understand the goals of the trust. Legislation, and in particular tax legislation, applicable not just to the trust but also to the settlor’s and beneficiaries’ places of residence, must also be studied carefully. The location of the assets to be placed in the trust is another important consideration.

In addition, very careful attention must be paid to the drafting of the trust instrument and to the powers reserved by the settlor or given to a protector, if one is appointed. An error (resulting, for example, in the trust being classified as a “sham trust”) can have serious consequences for the settlor, the beneficiaries and even the trustee.

At CROCE & Associés Trust, our capabilities and experience mean we are perfectly placed to ensure the trust you form meets your requirements perfectly. Our staff, the majority of whom are lawyers, have received specific training and are members of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP).

« Guardians of traditions »


Lire la suite...

Trusts

Le trust est une institution d’origine anglo-saxonne. Il peut se définir comme un acte juridique unilatéral par lequel le constituant (settlor) transfère des valeurs patrimoniales déterminées à un ou plusieurs trustees, lesquels ont l’obligation de les détenir, de les gérer et d’en disposer en faveur d’un ou plusieurs tiers (beneficiaries).

Les caractéristiques principales du trust sont les suivantes :

  • Le trust ne dispose pas de la personnalité juridique ; de ce point de vue, il se distingue de la fondation de famille.
  • La fortune du trust peut être constituée de tout type de biens que ce soit d’immeubles, de papiers-valeurs, d’espèces ou d’autres propriétés mobilières.
  • Bien que le trust soit créé à l’origine par le settlor, il constitue après sa création essentiellement un rapport juridique entre le trustee et les bénéficiaires qui est réglé en premier lieu par l’acte constitutif (trust instrument) et en second lieu par les dispositions juridiques applicables au trust (proper law of the trust).
  • La constitution du trust a pour effet de transférer la propriété formelle des biens concernés au trustee. Ce dernier doit toutefois gérer le patrimoine trustal dans l’intérêt des bénéficiaires ou dans un but d’intérêt général (purpose trust) et non dans le sien propre ou dans celui du settlor.
  • Le settlor perd en principe tout pouvoir sur le trust à moins que le contraire ne soit prévu dans le trust instrument. Dans cette dernière hypothèse, on parle de « reserved powers du settlor ».
  • Le settlor peut toutefois communiquer au trustee ses volontés et ses décisions par le biais d’une letter of wishes.
  • Les biens du trust constituent une masse distincte du patrimoine personnel du trustee ; les actifs trustaux sont donc à l’abri des créanciers personnels du trustee et ne rentrent ni dans sa succession ni dans son régime matrimonial en cas de décès ou de divorce.
  • Le constituant peut enfin, s’il le souhaite, désigner une personne (protector) chargée de surveiller que le trustee agisse conformément à sa volonté initiale. Ses pouvoirs peuvent être plus ou moins étendus et sont définis dans le trust instrument.
  • En règle générale, l’activité de trustee est strictement règlementée par les autorités de contrôle locales qui exigent une licence professionnelle. Dans certaines juridictions, il est toutefois loisible au settlor d’implémenter une private trust company dans laquelle il se désigne lui-même trustee (ou un tiers digne de confiance comme son conseiller personnel par exemple). Cette solution permet au settlor de conserver le contrôle sur le management du trust.

Le trust offre d’excellentes opportunités de planification fiscale et successorale à condition toutefois que cet instrument soit utilisé à bon escient. La constitution d’une telle entité requiert une analyse détaillée de la situation patrimoniale du settlor et des bénéficiaires ainsi que des objectifs recherchés. La législation – notamment fiscale – applicable non seulement au trust mais également à la résidence du constituant et des bénéficiaires, doit être étudiée avec soin. La localisation des biens du trust est également une question de la plus haute importance.

En outre, il convient de vouer une attention particulière à la rédaction de l’acte constitutif ainsi qu’aux pouvoirs réservés au settlor ou à l’éventuel protector. Une erreur (une qualification de « sham trust » par exemple) peut entraîner de graves conséquences pour le settlor, les bénéficiaires et même le trustee.

CROCE & Associés Trust possède les compétences ainsi que l’expérience nécessaires pour constituer le trust qui répond parfaitement aux souhaits du disposant. Les collaborateurs de la société, avocats pour la plupart, sont au bénéfice d’une formation spécifique et sont membres de la Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP).

« Guardians of traditions »


Lire la suite...